ÜBER LAM RESEARCH

ÜBERBLICK

Als zuverlässiger Partner der weltweit führenden Halbleiterhersteller spielt Lam Research eine Schlüsselrolle als Enabler der Technologie-Roadmap. Heute werden fast alle Chips mithilfe von Lam-Technologie hergestellt.

Unsere innovativen Fertigungsanlagen für die Halbleiterindustrie und unsere Dienstleistungen ermöglichen es Chipherstellern, kleinere, schnellere und leistungsstärkere Mikrochips herzustellen. Wir vereinen erstklassige Systemtechnik, technologische Branchenführung, eine auf starken Werten basierende Unternehmenskultur und kontinuierliches Engagement für den Erfolg unserer Kunden, um Innovationen zu beschleunigen. Dadurch helfen wir unseren Kunden, die Zukunft zu gestalten.

LAM RESEARCH AUF EINEN BLICK



UNSERE MISSION

Als führender Anbieter von innovativen Technologie- und Produktivitäts-Lösungen für die Halbleiterindustrie sind wir dem Erfolg unserer Kunden verpflichtet.

VISION

  • Weltweit führend beim Kundenvertrauen
  • Weltweit führend beim Marktanteil
  • Ein Unternehmen, bei dem erfolgreiche Menschen arbeiten wollen
  • „Best in Class“ Produkte und Dienstleistungen
  • Geschäftsergebnisse, welche die Finanzierung von Entwicklungen, die unsere Kunden benötigen, und eine attraktive Gesamtrendite für unsere Aktionäre erlauben

UNSERE WERTE

  • Ergebnisorientierung
  • Ehrlichkeit und Integrität
  • Innovation und ständige Weiterentwicklung
  • Gegenseitiges Vertrauen und Respekt
  • Offene Kommunikation
  • Selbstverantwortung und Verantwortlichkeit
  • Teamwork
  • Denkweise: Kunde, Unternehmen, Individuum

 

 



BIOGRAFIEN DER GESCHÄFTSLEITUNG

LEITUNG

Biography

Tim Archer

Tim Archer ist Vorsitzender und Chief Executive Officer. Tim Archer ist im Juni 2012 als Executive VP und Chief Operating Officer in das Unternehmen eingetreten. Zuvor war er 18 Jahre lang bei Novellus Systems, Inc., („Novellus“) beschäftigt, wo er unterschiedliche Positionen in der technologischen Entwicklung und in der Geschäftsführung einnahm, zuletzt als Chief Operating Officer von Januar 2011 bis Juni 2012. Von September 2009 bis Januar 2011 war er Executive VP für Worldwide Sales, Marketing and Customer Satisfaction; von November 2008 bis September 2009 war er Executive VP der PECVD und Electrofill Business Units. Seine Zeit bei Novellus umfasste auch eine Position als Senior Technology Director bei Novellus Systems Japan von 1999 bis 2001 und als Senior Technology Director für die Electrofill Business Unit von April 2001 bis April 2002. Er begann seine Karriere 1989 bei Tektronix, wo er für die Prozessentwicklung von schnellen bipolaren ICs verantwortlich war. Tim Archer schloss das Program for Management Development an der Harvard Graduate School of Business ab und erhielt einen Abschluss als B.Sc. für angewandte Physik vom California Institute of Technology.

Biography

Doug Bettinger

Doug Bettinger ist Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer und Chief Accounting Officer. Er ist für Finanzen, Steuern, Treasury, Informationstechnologie und Investor Relations verantwortlich. Bevor er 2013 dem Unternehmen beitrat, war er von 2008 bis 2013 als Senior VP und Chief Financial Officer bei Avago Technologies tätig. Von 2007 bis 2008 war er VP Finance und Corporate Controller bei Xilinx, Inc., und von 2004 bis 2007 als Chief Financial Officer bei 24/7 Customer, einem Privatunternehmen, beschäftigt. Doug Bettinger arbeitete von 1993 bis 2004 bei der Intel Corporation, wo er mehrere leitende Finanzpositionen innehatte, einschließlich Corporate Planning und Reporting Controller sowie Controller für den Standort Malaysia. Er erhielt seinen MBA-Abschluss in Finanzen an der University of Michigan und einen Abschluss als B.Sc. für Wirtschaft an der University of Wisconsin in Madison.

Biography

Gary Bultman

Gary Bultman ist seit April 2018 Senior Vice President, Corporate Development, mit Verantwortung für die strategische Ausrichtung, inklusive organischer und anorganischer Wachstumsstrategien, mit Fokus auf Steigerung des Geschäftserfolges und der Ausweitung von Perspektiven. Zuvor war Gary Bultman seit Januar 2013 Senior VP, Strategic Development and Emerging Markets. Bevor er zu Lam kam, hatte er unterschiedliche Positionen, darunter Division General Manager, Strategic Development, und Chief Marketing Officer bei KLA-Tencor inne. Vor dieser Zeit arbeitete Gary Bultman bei Applied Materials, wo er Erfahrung in Equipment Engineering, Marketing und Sales sammelte. Er begann seine Karriere bei AT&T Corporation als Semiconductor Process Engineer. Gary Bultman hat einen Abschluss als B.Sc. in Nukleartechnik von der Kansas State University.

Biography

Audrey Charles

Audrey Charles ist seit Februar 2018 Senior Vice President, Global Human Resources, mit Verantwortung für die Ausrichtung unserer Organisation und Personalstrategie an die Unternehmensziele und die Ausführung mitarbeiter-orientierter Prozesse. Zuvor war Audrey Charles seit Februar 2017 Corporate VP of Global Human Resources, seit September 2015 VP of Corporate Initiatives and Chief of Staff to the Chief Executive Officer, seit März 2015 Managing Director of Investor Relations, seit September 2014 Senior Director of Investor Relations und seit Januar 2012 Senior Director of Technology Process. Audrey Charles ist seit mehr als 20 Jahren bei Lam und verfügt über eine breite Basis an Erfahrung, inklusive Engineering, Marketing und Customer Management. Audrey Charles erhielt ihren MBA-Abschluss an der MIT Sloan School of Management und einen Abschluss als B.Sc. in angewandter Physik an der Dublin City University.

Biography

Tina Correia

Tina Correia ist Corporate Vice President, Investor Relations and Corporate Communications, eine Position, die sie seit September 2018 innehat. Davor war sie von April 2017 bis September 2018 Vice President, Chief of Staff-Office of the CEO von Lam Research. Vorher war sie von August 2010 bis April 2017 Vice President of Business Finance, verantwortlich für die Finanzplanung des Unternehmens sowie die Führung der Finanzbereiche der Lam-Geschäftseinheiten. Sie begann bei Lam in 2002 und hatte seitdem unterschiedliche Funktionen – wie Director Corporate Planning and Analysis, Global Operations Controller und Assistant Corporate Controller –  im Finanzbereich inne. Bevor sie bei Lam begann, war Tina Correia von 1999 bis 2002 bei BradVision Inc. in verschiedenen Führungspositionen im Finanzbereich, zuletzt als Vice Persident und Corporate Controller, tätig. Von 1992 bis 1999 arbeitete sie in der Wirtschaftsprüfung bei KMPG, LLP, mit Fokus auf Klienten der Hochtechnologie.
Tina Correia hat einen B.S. Abschluss in Betriebswirtschaft mit Schwerpunkt Finanz- und Rechnungswesen von der University of California in Berkley.

Biography

Jerry Davis

Jerry Davis ist Vice President, Chief Security Officer (“CSO”), eine Position, die er seit Juli 2018 innehat. In seiner Position als Stratege der globalen Vision für Informationssicherheit und Leiter der CSO-Organisation ist er für den Personenschutz, die Informationssicherheit sowie die Netzsicherheit und den Anlagenschutz verantwortlich. Vor seiner Zeit bei Lam war Jerry Davis von Februar 2013 bis Januar 2018 Chief Information Officer des Ames Research Center der NASA sowie Mitglied des Exekutivrates der NASA. Ebenso war er von 2007 bis 2010 der Chief Information Officer der NASA in Washington, D.C. Seine früheren Tätigkeiten umfassen exekutive Führungspositionen im Bereich der Sicherheit und IT bei der Central Intelligence Agency und beim U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs sowie Positionen als leitender Berater bei verschiedenen global tätigen Unternehmensberatungsgesellschaften.
Jerry Davis hat einen M.S. Abschluss in Business and Information Technology von der Western Governors University, USA.

Biography

Rick Gottscho

Rick Gottscho ist Executive Vice President und Chief Technology Officer, eine Position, die er seit Mai 2017 innehat. Davor war er ab August 2010 Executive VP der Global Products Group und ab März 2007 Group VP und General Manager des Etch Businesses. Er trat dem Unternehmen im Januar 1996 bei und war seitdem in unterschiedlichen Positionen als Director und VP für die Produktsegmente Deposition, Etch und Clean tätig. Zuvor war er 15 Jahre lang bei Bell Laboratories, wo er seine Karriere im Bereich Plasma Processing begann. Während seiner Zeit bei Bell stand er den Forschungsabteilungen für Electronic Materials, Electronic Packaging und Flat Panel Displays vor. 2016 wurde Dr. Gottscho in die U.S. National Academy of Engineering gewählt. Er ist Träger verschiedener Auszeichnungen, u.a. des American Vacuum Society’s Peter Mark Memorial Award, des Plasma Science and Technology Division Prize, des Dry Process Symposium Nishizawa Award und des Tegal Thinker Award. Er ist Mitglied der American Physical und American Vacuum Societies. Er hat zahlreiche Publikationen, Patente und Fachvorträge verfasst und war in Redaktionskomitees von technischen Peer-Review-Publikationen und in Programmkomitees für wichtige Konferenzen für Plasmawissenschaft und -technik. Er war stellvertretender Vorsitzender einer Studie des National Research Council über Plasmawissenschaft. Dr. Gottscho erhielt sein Doktorat und seinen B.Sc. in physikalischer Chemie vom Massachusetts Institute of Technology bzw. der Pennsylvania State University.

Biography

Rob Hawthorne

Rob Hawthorne ist Chief Information Officer, eine Position, die er seit Februar 2019 innehat. Er ist verantwortlich für die IT-Strategie, Dienstleistungserbringung und Business Partnering. Bevor er dem Unternehmen beitrat, war Rob Hawthorne 18 Jahre bei Jabil, Inc. in unterschiedlichen Führungspositionen im Bereich der IT tätig, zuletzt als Chief Information Officer der Electronic Manufacturing Services Division von Dezember 2014 bis Januar 2019, Chief Information Officer der Green Point Division von Juni 2013 bis Dezember 2014 und Vice President of IT Business Systems von Januar 2010 bis Juni 2013. Seine Beschäftigung bei Jabil umfasste auch Tätigkeiten als Senior Director of Business Systems von 2007 bis 2010 und Director of Business Systems von 2006 bis 2007.
Rob Hawthorne hat einen MBA Abschluss in Corporate Finance and Marketing und einen B.S. Abschluss in Business Administration and Management von der University at Buffalo, The State University of New York.

Biography

Kevin Jennings

Kevin Jennings ist seit Februar 2018 Senior Vice President, Global Operations, bei Lam Research. Er ist verantwortlich für Worldwide Manufacturing, Supply Chain, Logistics und Facilities. Davor war er ab Anfang Juni 2013 Group VP, Global Operations, und ab Anfang Juni 2012 VP, Strategic Development. Vor der Übernahme von Novellus im Juli 2012 hatte er bei Novellus verschiedene leitende Positionen in den Bereichen Engineering, Business Development, Marketing, Product Line General Managmeent und Operations inne. Kevin Jennings verfügt über mehr als dreißig Jahre Erfahrung in der Halbleiter-Equipment-Industrie, unter anderem bei KLA-Tencor; er begann seine Karriere 1986 bei Applied Materials. Er hat ein MBA von der Pepperdine University und ein Vordiplom in Elektroingenieurswesen von der DeVry University.

Biography

Pat Lord

Pat Lord ist Senior Vice President and General Manager, Customer Support Business Group, eine Position, die er seit Dezember 2016 innehat. Zuvor war er von September 2013 bis Dezember 2016 als Group VP und Deputy General Manager der Global Products Group tätig. Er arbeitete zwischen Juni 2012 und September 2013 als Leiter der Direct Metals, GapFill, Surface Integrity Group und Integrated Metals („DGSI“) Business Units. Vor der Übernahme von Novellus im Juni 2012 war er Senior VP und General Manager der DGSI Business Units bei Novellus. Darüber hinaus hatte Dr. Lord die Position des Senior VP, Business Development and Strategic Planning, inne. 2001 begann er bei Novellus und hatte zahlreiche weitere Positionen inne, darunter Executive VP und General Manager der CMP Business Unit, Senior Director of Business Development, Senior Director of Strategic Marketing und VP of Corporate Marketing. Vor seiner Zeit bei Novellus war Dr. Lord in mehreren Positionen im Produktmarketing und Management bei KLA-Tencor Corporation („KLA-Tencor“) beschäftigt. Seinen Ph.D., M.Sc. und B.Sc. in Maschinenbau erhielt er am Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Biography

Scott Meikle

Scott G. Meikle ist Senior Vice President, Global Customer Operations, eine Position, die er seit September 2017 innehat. Bevor er zu Lam kam, war er für ein Jahr unabhängiger Berater und für 7 Monate Director, Special Projects bei Micron Technology Inc. Vor dieser Zeit arbeitete er mehr als 5 Jahre für Inotera Memories, Inc., zuletzt als President von August 2012 bis Dezember 2015. Scott Meikle begann seine Karriere in Prozess-F&E und nahm an mehreren Standorten von Micron Technology verschiedene leitende Positionen im Bereich Business Operations ein; er verfügt über mhr als 35 Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich Speicherchips. Er erhielt seinen Ph.D. und M.Eng. Abschluss in Technischer Physik von der Universität Shizuoka bzw. seinen B.Sc. Abschluss in Physik von der University of Calgary.

Biography

Sarah O’Dowd

Sarah O’Dowd ist Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer und Secretary. Sarah O’Dowd ist im September 2008 als Group VP und Chief Legal Officer in das Unternehmen eingetreten. Ihr Verantwortungsbereich umfasst allgemeine Rechtsangelegenheiten, IP sowie Ethik und Compliance. Im April 2009 wurde sie zusätzlich VP of Human Resources und erfüllte diese Doppelrolle bis Mai 2012. Bevor sie bei Lam begann, war sie von Februar 2007 bis September 2008 VP und General Counsel bei FibroGen, Inc. Bis Februar 2007 warSarah O’Dowd mehr als 20 Jahre lang Teilhaberin der Anwaltskanzlei Heller Ehrman LLP und praktizierte in den Bereichen Corporate Securities, Governance sowie Merger & Acquisition für eine Vielzahl von Klienten, die meisten von ihnen börsennotierte Hochtechnologie-Unternehmen. Bei Heller Ehrman nahm sie mehrere Führungs- und Management-Positionen ein, einschließlich Managing Partner der Firmensitze in Silicon Valley und San Diego, war Mitglied des Policy Committee und, als Leiterin der Business Practice Groups, auch Mitglied des Executive Committee. Sarah O’Dowd erhielt ihren Doktortitel in Jura und ihren M.A. in Kommunikationswissenschaften von der Stanford Law School bzw. von der Stanford University und ihren B.A. in Mathematik vom Immaculata College.

Biography

Karsten Theess

Karsten Theess ist Vice President of Business Operations and Transformation, eine Position, die er seit Juni 2018 innehat. Zuvor war er seit Juli 2013 Vice President of Pilot Operations. Karsten Theess war Vorstand der Nassreinigungs-Sparte in Villach, Österreich ab 2010 und Operations Executive der Customer Support Business Group in der Konzernzentrale in Fremont, Kalifornien. Er begann bei Lam in 1997.
Karsten Theess hat einen M.Sc. Abschluss in Elektrotechnik und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen von der Helmut-Schmidt-Universität, Deutschland.

Biography

Vahid Vahedi

Vahid Vahedi ist Senior Vice President & General Manager, Etch Business Unit, eine Position, die er seit Februar 2018 innehat. Seit März 2012 war er Group VP, Etch Product Group. Zuvor war er VP, Etch Business Product Management and Marketing, VP Dielectric Etch, VP Conductor and 3DIC Etch und Director Conductor Etch Technology Development. Er begann 1995 bei Lam zu arbeiten. Vahid Vahedi erhielt seinen Ph.D., M.Sc. und B.Sc. in Elektrotechnik und Computerwissenschaften an der University of California in Berkeley.

Biography

Sesha Varadarajan

Sesha Varadarajan ist Senior Vice President und General Manger, Deposition Business Unit, eine Position, die er seit Februar 2018 innehat. Seit September 2013 war er Group VP, Deposition Product Group. Davor war er zwischen Juni 2012 und September 2013 als Group VP der PECVD/Electrofill Business Unit tätig. Vor der Übernahme von Novellus im Juli 2012 war er Senior VP und General Manager, PECVD and Electrofill Business Unit, bei Novellus. Sesha Varadarajan begann 1999 bei Novellus als Prozessingenieur in der Electrofill Business Unit und hatte mehrere Positionen in diesem Geschäftsbereich inne, bevor er 2004 zum Director of Technology ernannt wurde. Zwischen 2006 und 2008 war er in der PECVD Business Unit tätig, zunächst als Director of Technology, später wurde er zum Product General Manager befördert. 2009 kehrte er als VP und General Manger in die Electrofill Business Unit zurück. Mitte 2011 wurde er zum Senior VP und General Manager befördert und war zusätzlich für die PECVD Business Unit verantwortlich. Sesha Varadarajan erhielt einen M.Sc. in Fertigungstechnik und Materialwissenschaften an der Boston University und einen B.Sc. in Maschinenbau an der University of Mysore.



VERWALTUNGSRAT

Stephen G. Newberry

Chairman

Tim Archer

President
Chief Executive Officer

Sohail Ahmed

Senior Vice President and General Manager, Technology Manufacturing Group (former)
Intel Corporation

Eric K. Brandt

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer (former)
Broadcom Corporation

Michael R. Cannon

General Partner
MRC & LBC Partners, LLC

Youssef A. El-Mansy, Ph.D.

Vice President, Director of Logic Technology Development (retired)
Intel Corporation

Christine A. Heckart

Chief Executive Officer and Director
Scalyr, Inc.

Catherine P. Lego

Member
Lego Ventures, LLC

Bethany J. Mayer

Executive Partner
Siris Capital Group LLC

Abhijit Y. Talwalkar

President and Chief Executive Officer (former)
LSI Corporation

Lih Shyng (Rick L.) Tsai, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer and Director
MediaTek Inc.

Leslie F. Varon

Chief Financial Officer (former)
Xerox Corporation

UNTERNEHMENSGESCHICHTE

Seit 1980 hat Lam Research maßgeblich zu dem außergewöhnlichen Innovationstempo in der Halbleiterindustrie beigetragen.

SOZIALE VERANTWORTUNG

Lam bekennt sich zur Verpflichtung einen positiven Einfluss auf die Regionen zu haben, in denen unsere Mitarbeiter leben und arbeiten, und unsere Anlagen verantwortungsbewusst zu produzieren.

STANDORTE

Unser Hauptsitz befindet sich in Fremont, Kalifornien, wir haben jedoch Standorte auf der ganzen Welt, einschließlich Produktionsstätten in den USA, in Österreich und in Südkorea.

circle-arrow2circle-arrow2facebookgooglehandshake2health2linkedinmenupdfplant2searchtwitteryoutube

Company Overview

OVERVIEW

As a trusted, collaborative partner to the world’s leading semiconductor companies, Lam Research is a fundamental enabler of the silicon roadmap. In fact, today, nearly every advanced chip is built with Lam technology.

Our innovative wafer fabrication equipment and services allow chipmakers to build smaller, faster, and better performing electronic devices. We combine superior systems engineering, technology leadership, a strong values-based culture, and unwavering commitment to customer success to accelerate innovation, enabling our customers to shape the future.

Lam Research at a Glance



Our Mission

Lam Research is dedicated to the success of our customers by being the world-class provider of innovative technology and productivity solutions to the semiconductor industry

VISION

  • Number one in customer trust
  • Number one in market share
  • A company where successful people want to work
  • Best in-class products and services
  • Financial performance to fund the solutions our customers require and provide the return that our shareholders expect

Core Values

  • Achievement
  • Honesty and integrity
  • Innovation and continuous improvement
  • Mutual trust and respect
  • Open communication
  • Ownership and accountability
  • Teamwork
  • Think: customer, company, individual

 

 



Executive Biographies

Leadership

Biography

Tim Archer

Timothy M. Archer is our president and chief executive officer. Mr. Archer joined us in June 2012 as our executive vice president, chief operating officer. Prior to joining us, he spent 18 years at Novellus Systems, Inc., in various technology development and business leadership roles, including most recently as chief operating officer from January 2011 to June 2012; executive vice president of Worldwide Sales, Marketing, and Customer Satisfaction from September 2009 to January 2011; and executive vice president of the PECVD and Electrofill Business Units from November 2008 to September 2009. His tenure at Novellus also included assignments as senior director of technology for Novellus Systems Japan from 1999 to 2001 and senior director of technology for the Electrofill Business Unit from April 2001 to April 2002. He started his career in 1989 at Tektronix, where he was responsible for process development for high-speed bipolar ICs. Mr. Archer completed the Program for Management Development at the Harvard Graduate School of Business and earned a B.S. degree in applied physics from the California Institute of Technology.

Biography

Doug Bettinger

Douglas R. Bettinger is our executive vice president, chief financial officer, and chief accounting officer with responsibility for Finance, Tax, Treasury, Information Technology, and Investor Relations. Prior to joining the Company in 2013, Mr. Bettinger served as senior vice president and chief financial officer of Avago Technologies from 2008 to 2013. From 2007 to 2008, he served as vice president of Finance and corporate controller at Xilinx, Inc., and from 2004 to 2007, he was chief financial officer at 24/7 Customer, a privately held company. Mr. Bettinger worked at Intel Corporation from 1993 to 2004, where he held several senior-level finance positions, including corporate planning and reporting controller and Malaysia site operations controller. Mr. Bettinger earned an M.B.A. degree in finance from the University of Michigan and a B.S. degree in economics from the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

Biography

Gary Bultman

Gary Bultman has been our senior vice president, Corporate Development, with responsibility for driving our strategic agenda, inclusive of organic and inorganic strategies, focused on increasing the success of our business and expanding our horizons, since April 2018. Immediately prior to that time, Mr. Bultman had been senior vice president, Strategic Development and Emerging Markets from January 2013. Prior to joining us, Mr. Bultman held various roles, including division general manager, strategic development, and chief marketing officer, at KLA-Tencor. Prior to that Mr. Bultman was at Applied Materials, where he gained experience in equipment engineering, marketing, and sales. He started his career at AT&T Corporation where he served as a semiconductor process engineer. Mr. Bultman earned a B.S. degree in nuclear engineering from Kansas State University.

Biography

Audrey Charles

Audrey Charles has been our senior vice president, Global Human Resources, with responsibility for the alignment of our organization and people strategies to corporate business objectives and the execution of people-oriented processes, since February 2018. Immediately prior to that time, she had been corporate vice president of Global Human Resources since February 2017, vice president of corporate initiatives and chief of staff to the chief executive officer since September 2015, managing director of Investor Relations since March 2015, senior director of Investor Relations since September 2014, and senior director of Field Process since January 2013. She has been with us for more than 20 years and has a broad base of experience, including engineering, marketing, and customer management. Ms. Charles earned an M.B.A. from the MIT Sloan School of Management and a B.S. in applied physics from Dublin City University.

Biography

Rick Gottscho

Richard A. Gottscho is our executive vice president, corporate chief technology officer, a position he has held since May 2017. Prior to that time, he had been executive vice president, Global Products Group beginning in August 2010; and group vice president and general manager, Etch Businesses beginning in March 2007. He joined us in January 1996 and has served at various director and vice president levels in support of etch products, CVD products, and corporate research. Prior to joining us, he was a member of Bell Laboratories for 15 years, where he started his career working in plasma processing. During his tenure at Bell, he headed research departments in electronics materials, electronics packaging, and flat panel displays. He is the author of numerous papers, patents, and lectures in plasma processing and process control. He is a recipient of the American Vacuum Society’s Peter Mark Memorial Award and Plasma Science and Technology Division Prize, the Gaseous Electronics Conference Foundation Lecturer, the Dry Process Symposium Nishizawa Award, and the Tegal Thinker Award. He is a fellow of the American Physical and American Vacuum Societies, has served on numerous editorial boards of refereed technical publications and program committees for major conferences in plasma science and engineering, and was vice-chair of a National Research Council study on plasma science in the 1980s. In 2016, Dr. Gottscho was elected to the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Gottscho earned Ph.D. and B.S. degrees in physical chemistry from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Pennsylvania State University, respectively.

Biography

Kevin Jennings

Kevin D. Jennings is our senior vice president, global operations, a position he has held since February 2018 in which he is responsible for worldwide manufacturing, supply chain, logistics, and facilities. Prior to that time, he had been group vice president, global operations beginning in June 2013; and vice president, strategic development, beginning in June 2012. Prior to our acquisition of Novellus in June 2012, he held a variety of executive roles covering engineering, business development, marketing, product line general management, and operations at Novellus. Mr. Jennings has over 30 years of experience in the semiconductor capital equipment industry that includes KLA-Tencor and began in 1986 at Applied Materials. He earned an M.B.A. from Pepperdine University and an undergraduate degree in electrical engineering technology from DeVry University.

Biography

Pat Lord

Patrick J. Lord is our senior vice president and general manager of the Customer Support Business Group, a position he has held since December 2016. Previously, Dr. Lord held the position of group vice president and deputy general manager of the Global Products Group from September 2013 to December 2016. He served as the head of the Direct Metals, GapFill, Surface Integrity Group, and Integrated Metals (“DGSI”) Business Units between June 2012 and September 2013. Prior to our acquisition of Novellus in June 2012, Dr. Lord was senior vice president and general manager of the DGSI Business Units at Novellus. Additionally, Dr. Lord held the position of senior vice president of Business Development and Strategic Planning. He joined Novellus in 2001 and held a number of other positions, including executive vice president and general manager of the CMP Business Unit, senior director of Business Development, senior director of Strategic Marketing, and acting vice president of Corporate Marketing. Before joining Novellus, Dr. Lord spent six years at KLA-Tencor Corporation (“KLA-Tencor”) in various product marketing and management roles. He earned his Ph.D., M.S., and B.S. degrees in mechanical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Biography

Scott Meikle

Scott G. Meikle is our senior vice president of Global Customer Operations, a position he has held since September 2017. Before joining us, he was an independent consultant for a year and director, special projects at Micron Technology, Inc. for seven months. Prior to that time, he spent over five and a half years at Inotera Memories, Inc., most recently as its president from August 2012 to December 2015. Dr. Meikle started his career in process R&D and advanced to various leadership roles in business operations across multiple geographies for Micron Technology, and has over 25 years of experience in the memory devices sector of the semiconductor industry. He earned his Ph.D. and M. Eng. degrees in engineering physics from Shizuoka University and McMaster University, respectively, and a B.S. degree in physics from the University of Calgary.

Biography

Sarah O’Dowd

Sarah A. O’Dowd is our senior vice president, chief legal officer and secretary. She joined us in September 2008 as group vice president and chief legal officer, responsible for general legal matters, intellectual property and ethics, and compliance. In addition to her Legal function, in April 2009 she was appointed vice president of Human Resources and served in this dual capacity through May 2012. Prior to joining us, she was vice president and general counsel for FibroGen, Inc., from February 2007 until September 2008. Until February 2007, Ms. O’Dowd was a shareholder in the law firm of Heller Ehrman LLP for more than 20 years, practicing in the areas of corporate securities, governance, and mergers and acquisitions for a variety of clients, principally publicly traded high-technology companies. She served in a variety of leadership and management roles at Heller Ehrman, including managing partner of the Silicon Valley and San Diego offices, member of the firm’s Policy Committee, and, as head of the firm’s business practice groups, a member of the firm’s Executive Committee. Ms. O’Dowd earned her J.D. and M.A. degrees in communications from Stanford Law School and Stanford University, respectively, and her B.A. degree in mathematics from Immaculata College.

Biography

Vahid Vahedi

Vahid Vahedi is our senior vice president and general manager of the Etch Business Unit, a position he has held since February 2018. Prior to that time, he was group vice president of the Etch product group since March 2012. Previously, he served as vice president of Etch Business Product Management and Marketing, vice president of Dielectric Etch, vice president of Conductor and 3DIC Etch, and director of Conductor Etch Technology Development. He joined us in 1995. He earned his Ph.D., M.S., and B.S. degrees in electrical engineering and computer science from the University of California at Berkeley.

Biography

Sesha Varadarajan

Sesha Varadarajan is our senior vice president and general manager of the Deposition Business Unit, a position he has held since February 2018. Prior that time, he was group vice president of the Deposition product group since September 2013. Previously, he served as the head of the PECVD/Electrofill Business Unit between June 2012 and September 2013. Prior to our acquisition of Novellus in June 2012, Mr. Varadarajan was senior vice president and general manager of Novellus’ PECVD and Electrofill Business Units. He joined Novellus in 1999 as a process engineer with the Electrofill Business Unit and held various roles in that business unit before being appointed director of technology in 2004. Between 2006 and 2008, he worked in the PECVD Business Unit, initially as director of technology, until being promoted to product general manager. In 2009, he returned to the Electrofill Business Unit as vice president and general manager. In mid-2011, he was promoted to senior vice president and general manager, where he was also responsible for the PECVD Business Unit. Mr. Varadarajan earned an M.S. degree in manufacturing engineering and material science from Boston University and a B.S. degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Mysore.



Board of Directors

Stephen G. Newberry

Chairman

Tim Archer

President
and Chief Executive Officer

Eric K. Brandt

Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer (former)
Broadcom Corporation

Michael R. Cannon

General Partner
MRC & LBC Partners, LLC

Youssef A. El-Mansy, Ph.D.

Vice President, Director of Logic Technology Development (retired)
Intel Corporation

Christine A. Heckart

Senior Vice President, Business Unit Marketing (former)
Cisco Systems, Inc.

Catherine P. Lego

Member
Lego Ventures, LLC

Abhijit Y. Talwalkar

President and Chief Executive Officer (former)
LSI Corporation

Lih Shyng (Rick L.) Tsai, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer and Director
MediaTek Inc.

Company History

Since 1980, Lam has played a key role in contributing to the extraordinary pace of innovation in the semiconductor industry.

Social Responsibility

We recognize that Lam has an obligation to positively impact the regions where our employees live and work and to produce our equipment responsibly.

Office Locations

Headquartered in Fremont, California, we have locations in countries around the world, including manufacturing in the U.S., Austria, and South Korea.

circle-arrow2circle-arrow2facebookgooglehandshake2health2linkedinmenupdfplant2searchtwitteryoutube