我们的解决方案

助推下一代技术

市场对更快、更小、更强大的低功耗型电子器件的需求推动着新的制造策略的发展,以便能够制造出具有精密的紧凑封装构件和复杂3D结构的先进器件。要生产当今市场需要的最前沿微处理器、存储器件和众多其他产品绝非易事,必须不断创新,开发出强大的加工解决方案。

通过协作和利用多个领域的专业知识,泛林集团继续开发新的功能,以满足这些日益复杂的器件的生产需求。我们的创新性技术和生产力解决方案涵盖了晶体管、互连、图形化、先进存储器、封装、传感器、模拟与混合信号、分立式元件与功率器件以及光电子与光子器件,可提供广泛的硅片加工能力,满足最新芯片和应用的生产需要。


Transistor

晶体管

作为芯片的“大脑”,晶体管是一种用于控制电流的微小开关。在单一集成电路中可能有数十亿个晶体管。对更小、更强大的电子器件的需求正推动着新的晶体管结构的发展,如3D FinFET设计和高k值/金属栅极等特殊材料的使用。这些使得器件构件尺寸的不断缩小成为可能。对于目前原子层级的最新晶体管尺寸,它们的制造极具挑战性。为了确保这些先进器件实现预期的高性能,需要拥有卓越的制造能力,在形成微型构件时提供出色的精度和控制。

Interconnect

互连

互连由复杂的布线构成,连接着芯片上数十亿个组件(晶体管、电容等)。随着器件不断变小、封装密度不断加大,需要更多的互连层次,而要把一切都连接起来,挑战性必然越来越大。事实上,随着构件尺寸继续缩小,互连已成为当今最先进的芯片的速度瓶颈。因此,我们需要能尽量降低金属互连电阻的技术以及能提升隔离能力的新型介电材料。为了生产最新的高性能电子器件,先进互连结构具有尺寸狭小、薄膜层复杂的特点,这需要越来越灵活和精密的加工能力。

Patterning

图形化

图形化涉及一系列工艺步骤——包括光刻、沉积和刻蚀——形成集成电路上极小、极复杂的构件。随着每一次更新换代,器件尺寸不断缩小。对于先进结构,因构件尺寸太小和/或封装密度过大,常规光刻技术无法实现(该步骤将芯片设计的复杂细节从掩膜“模板”转印到硅片上)。为了弥补这项不足,芯片制造商已经开始采用涉及多个掩膜和工艺组合的先进技术,如双重/四重图形化和基于侧壁的图形化。即使这些方法弥补了光刻技术的不足,但为了精确生产出所需的高密度精密构件,另外还需要极高的加工精度和薄膜质量。

advance memory

先进存储器

存储单元——存储电子数据的芯片组件——包括短时易失性(如DRAM)和长期非易失性(如闪存)两个存储类型。DRAM是主要的“工作”(活跃)存储器,闪存则用于以紧凑的方式存储大量数据。为了增加器件密度以提高存储容量,DRAM构件继续缩小,而NAND闪存已经转向3D架构,这些给加工工艺带来了更多的挑战。例如,3D NAND中的多个层次很容易受到应力的影响,高深宽比通道中的任何瑕疵都可能会造成短路和干扰。对于填补有源器件与存储类器件之间空白的新型存储器,由于采用难以加工的新型材料,其生产也是困难重重。因此,需要极佳的工艺控制能力、灵活性和生产力。

packaging

封装

封装是指在成品芯片周围形成保护壳并创建外部输入/输出连接的工艺步骤。消费者对更小、更快、更强大的移动电子产品的需求推动着替代封装方案的开发。相关策略包括硅片级封装——当芯片仍在硅片上时进行封装,然后分离——采用凸块、重布层和扇出封装方案。另一种技术是采用硅通孔(TSV),硅通孔是把芯片栈连接起来的金属导电柱。这些策略给所采用的加工步骤带来了诸多挑战,例如,多种构件形状的管理、多种材料类型、严格的热预算等

传感器与换能器

换能器是将某种能量——如光能、动能、热能或化学反应能——从一种形式转化成另一种形式的器件。例如,致动器就是一种把能量转换成动能的换能器。当换能器的输出将能量转换成可读形式(模拟或数字表示)时,则被称为传感器。有多种类型的换能器和传感器用于转换和测量周边环境中产生的信号,其应用范围不断扩大。虽然不必采用最新一代的加工设备生产这些器件,但却需要开发相应的工艺,以支持许多独特的器件设计。另外,有些生产步骤涉及其他器件类型未使用的材料,如压电薄膜。因此,设备技术性能、可靠性、生产力和整体成本效益都至关重要。

模拟与混合信号

模拟电子器件提供连续可变信号,数字电子器件则提供离散信号并且仅区分两个电平(如“开”和“关”)。顾名思义,混合信号器件同时含有模拟电路和数字电路。混合信号设计是经济高效的解决方案,通常用于构建消费类电子应用,随着智能手机和其他移动技术的普及,这类器件出现了大幅增长。若要经济地生产模拟和混合信号器件,必须采用具有高可靠性和高生产力的经济高效型加工设备。

分立式器件与功率器件

分立式器件是单个的半导体,如二极管、晶体管等。功率晶体管是一类重要的分立式器件,用于调节电压、协助降低功耗、减少发热量等,应用范围广泛。例如,对于旨在延长便携式电子设备电池使用寿命的电路,它们是必不可少的组件。新兴的宽禁带电源器件(如GaN和SiC)能以更高的频率实现低功率和高功率应用,满足消费电子产品以及电网、能源、交通、汽车等领域高功率应用的需求。基于硅或宽禁带材料的主要功率器件包括功率二极管、晶闸管、功率金属氧化物半导体场效应晶体管(MOSFET)、绝缘栅极双极性晶体管(IGBT)等。这些类型的器件需要采用可靠、高生产力的经济高效型设备进行低成本生产。

光电子与光子

光子集成电路(PIC)也称为集成光学电路,类似于电子集成电路。但是,这些光电器件并不只是用电信号传输信息,而是同时使用电信号和光信号。光学的运用既可增加带宽、提升连接速率,还能降低功率成本。光学组件已经广泛应用于电信领域,家居连接技术也离不开它。数据中心应用的增长极大地增加了对PIC的需求,因为它们能够实现更高效的系统架构,大幅降低能耗,提升性能。因此,光电系统的运用预计会继续增长,并且需要经济高效且可靠的制造解决方案。


帮助芯片制造商创造未来

我们的产品

circle-arrow2circle-arrow2facebookgooglehandshake2health2linkedinmenupdfplant2searchtwitteryoutube

Our Solutions

Enabling
next-generation technologies

Market demand for faster, smaller, more powerful, and energy-efficient electronics is driving the development of new fabrication strategies that enable producing advanced devices with fine, closely packed features and complex 3D structures. Creating the cutting-edge microprocessors, memory devices, and numerous other product types in demand today is extremely challenging and requires continuous innovation to deliver capable processing solutions.

Through collaboration and drawing on multiple areas of expertise, Lam continues to develop the new capabilities required to manufacture these increasingly challenging devices. Our innovative technology and productivity solutions deliver a wide range of wafer processing capabilities needed to create the latest chips and applications – from transistor, interconnect, patterning, advanced memory, and packaging to sensors and transducers, analog and mixed signal, discretes and power devices, and optoelectronics and photonics.


Lam Research Our Solutions Finfet Transistor

TRANSISTOR

Transistors – the “brains” of a chip – are tiny switches that control the flow of electricity, and there can literally be billions of these on a single integrated circuit. Demand for smaller, more powerful electronics is driving the development of new transistor architectures like 3D FinFET designs and the use of specialty materials such as high-k/metal gates. These in turn allow continued shrinking of device feature sizes. With dimensions for the latest transistors now at the atomic level, they are extremely challenging to manufacture. To ensure the high performance expected of these advanced devices, manufacturing capabilities that deliver exceptional precision and control in forming the tiny features are needed.

Lam Research Our Solutions Copper Interconnect

INTERCONNECT

The interconnect makes up the intricate wiring that connects the billions of individual components (transistors, capacitors, etc.) on a chip. As smaller and smaller devices are packed closer together, more interconnect levels are needed, and connecting everything becomes increasingly challenging. In fact, as the shrinking of feature dimensions has continued, interconnects are now becoming the speed bottleneck in today’s most advanced chips. As a result, techniques that minimize resistance of the metal connections and novel dielectric materials that boost insulating capacity are needed. To produce the latest high-performance electronic devices, advanced interconnect structures involve narrow geometries and complex film layers, which require increasingly flexible and precise process capabilities.

Lam Research Multiple Patterning

PATTERNING

Patterning involves the set of process steps – including lithography, deposition, and etch – that create the extremely small, intricate features of an integrated circuit. With each new generation, device dimensions continue to shrink. For advanced structures, these feature sizes can be too small and/or packed too closely together for conventional lithography, the step that transfers the chip design’s intricate detail from the mask “template” onto the wafer. To compensate, chipmakers are using advanced techniques like double/quadruple and spacer-based patterning, involving multiple masks and process sets. Even as these approaches ease lithography limitations, they create new demands for exceptional process precision and film quality in order to accurately produce the fine, dense features required.

ADVANCED MEMORY

Memory cells – the chip components that store electronic data – include short-term volatile (such as DRAM) and long-term non-volatile (such as flash) storage types. DRAM is the mainstay for “working” (active) memory, while flash memory is used to store large amounts of data in a compact form. To increase device density for more storage capacity, DRAM features continue to shrink, and NAND flash has moved to 3D architectures, which raise additional processing challenges. For example, the numerous layers in 3D NAND are vulnerable to stress, and any imperfections in the high aspect-ratio channels can create electrical shorts and interference. Production of newer memory types that bridge the gap between active and storage classes is also difficult due to the use of novel, hard-to-process materials. As a result, exceptional process control, flexibility, and productivity are needed.

Lam Research Products Single TSV Stack

PACKAGING

Packaging refers to the process steps that form the protective enclosure around a finished chip and create the external connections for input/output. Consumer demand for smaller, faster, and more powerful mobile electronics is driving the development of alternate packaging approaches. Strategies include wafer-level packaging – where chips are packaged while still on the wafer, then separated – using bumping, redistribution layers, and fan-out packaging approaches. Another technique is the use of through-silicon vias (TSVs), which are conductive pillars of metal that connect stacks of chips. These strategies generate multiple challenges for the processing steps involved, such as managing a range of feature shapes, multiple material types, and strict thermal budgets.

SENSORS & TRANSDUCERS

Transducers are devices that change some type of energy – such as light, motion, heat, or a chemical reaction – from one form into another. For example, actuators are a type of transducer that convert energy into motion. When the output of a transducer converts the energy to a readable format (an analog or digital representation), it is called a sensor. Many types of transducers and sensors are used to convert and measure signals generated in the environment all around us, and their applications continue to grow. While producing these devices does not necessarily require the latest generations of processing equipment, it does require the development of processes to support many unique device designs. Also, some of the fabrication steps involve materials not used in other device types, such as piezoelectric thin films. As a result, equipment technical capability, reliability, productivity, and overall cost-effectiveness are critical.

ANALOG & MIXED SIGNAL

Analog electronics are devices with a continuous variable signal, while digital electronics provide discrete signals and differentiate only two levels (such as “on” and “off”). As the name implies, mixed-signal devices contain both analog and digital circuits. Mixed-signal designs are cost-effective solutions commonly used to build consumer electronics applications, and this category has seen dramatic growth with the increased use of smartphones and other portable technologies. Processing equipment that provides high reliability and productivity cost-effectively is needed for the economical manufacture of analog and mixed-signal devices.

DISCRETES & POWER DEVICES

Discrete devices are single semiconductors like diodes or transistors. Power transistors are an important class of discrete devices and are used in a range of applications to regulate voltages, help lower power consumption, and reduce heat generation. For example, they are essential components in circuits aimed at extending battery life in portable electronics. Emerging wide-bandgap power devices (e.g., GaN and SiC) offer both low- and high-power applications at higher frequencies, addressing consumer electronics as well as higher-power applications in the power grid, energy, transportation, and automotive sectors. Examples of key power devices based upon silicon or wide-bandgap materials include power diodes, thyristors, power metal-oxide semiconductor field effect transistors (MOSFETs), and insulated gate bipolar transistors (IGBTs). These types of devices require low-cost manufacturing from reliable, high-productivity, and cost-effective equipment.

OPTOELECTRONICS & PHOTONICS

A photonic integrated circuit (PIC), also known as an integrated optical circuit, is similar to an electronic integrated circuit. However, instead of using only electrical signals to transmit information, these optoelectronic devices use both electrical and optical (light) signals. The use of optics enables more bandwidth and faster connectivity while reducing power costs. Optical components are well established in telecommunications and are technologies that provide connectivity for homes. The growth in data center applications has greatly increased demand for PICs since they enable more efficient system architectures, significantly reduce energy consumption, and improve performance. As such, the use of optoelectronic systems is expected to continue growing and requires cost-effective, reliable manufacturing solutions.

OUR PRODUCTS

ENABLING CHIPMAKERS TO CREATE THE FUTURE


circle-arrow2circle-arrow2facebookgooglehandshake2health2linkedinmenupdfplant2searchtwitteryoutube