我們的製程

提供原子級的精密控制

用來製造今日最先進晶片的半導體製程正面臨著極大的挑戰,需藉由奈米級的特徵結構、創新材料、以及日益複雜的3D結構來突破物理和化學的極限。為滿足新型晶片設計不斷改變的製造需求,需要原子級的精密控制。

為確保這些新的製程技術在新晶片準備投產時便已就緒,我們的科學家和工程師需隨時掌握客戶的製造需求。我們領先市場的完備產品組合,包括薄膜沉積、電漿蝕刻、光阻去除和晶圓清洗等,是相輔相成的製程步驟,會被應用於整個半導體製造過程中。為了支援先進製程的監測和控制關鍵步驟,我們的產品還包括一系列的高精密度質量測量系統。


薄膜沉積

沉積製程可形成半導體元件中的介電(絕緣)和金屬(導電)材料層。取決於製造的材料和結構類型,採用的沉積技術也有所不同。電化學沉積(ECD)可產生銅「佈線」(互連),以連接積體電路中的元件。銅和其他金屬的金屬電鍍也用於矽穿孔和晶圓級封裝應用。微小的鎢連接和薄阻障層(barrier)是採用精密的化學氣相沉積(CVD)和原子層沉積(ALD)製造,一次只添加幾層的原子。電漿輔助CVD (PECVD)、高密度電漿CVD (HDP-CVD) 和ALD用於形成可隔離和保護所有這些電性結構的關鍵絕緣層。

針對各種的材料與嚴苛的特徵結構,我們的薄膜沉積產品可為各種具有挑戰性的元件應用提供所需的精密度、效能和靈活性。

電漿蝕刻

透過選擇性地去除在沉積期間添加的介電層(絕緣)和金屬(導電)材料,蝕刻製程可用來製作晶片的特徵結構。這些製程涉及製造越來越小、複雜、高且窄的特徵結構,並使用多種類型的材料。主要的技術,反應離子蝕刻 (RIE),是用離子(帶電微粒) 轟擊晶片表面來去除材料。針對最微小的特徵結構,原子層蝕刻 (ALE) 可一次去除一些原子層的材料。而導體蝕刻製程可精確形成電晶體這類的關鍵電子元件,介電層蝕刻則可形成保護導電部分的絕緣結構。蝕刻製程還能創建高的柱狀特徵,例如,用在矽穿孔(TSV)中來連接晶片、以及用在微機電系統(MEMS)中。

我們的電漿蝕刻系統可提供形成精確結構所需的高效能、高生產力功能 ─ 無論是高且窄、短且寬、還是僅有幾奈米大小的結構均適用。

光阻去除與晶圓清洗

在製造步驟之間,會利用光阻去除和晶圓清洗技術來去除可能導致缺陷的不必要材料,並為晶圓表面做好準備,以供後續的處理製程之用。光阻去除可去除離子植入或蝕刻步驟之後的光阻薄膜與殘留物。為了清除微粒、汙染物、殘留物、以及其它不必要的材料,晶圓清洗步驟會在整個製造過程中重複執行多次。濕式處理也會用於晶圓清洗、以及光阻去除和蝕刻應用。電漿晶邊清洗是透過去除晶圓邊緣區域中可能影響元件面積的不必要材料來提升晶粒良率。

我們的光阻去除技術可選擇性地去除殘留的光阻,並為多種應用提供製程靈活性,而我們的高生產力晶圓清洗產品可為最嚴苛的清洗步驟提供從中心到邊緣的原始表面。

質量測量

質量測量技術可測量晶圓在沉積、蝕刻和清洗製程之後的質量變化,以便能夠監測和控制這些經常重複的核心製造步驟。對於薄膜堆疊,高深寬比結構和複雜3D架構等設計,光學技術在精確測量厚、深或視覺上模糊的特徵結構方面的能力有限。測量這些應用的質量變化提供了一種直接的高精度解決方案,可用來監測和控制先進元件結構中的關鍵特徵,而這些特徵通常是不容許有任何變異的。

我們的高精度質量測量系統提供沉積、蝕刻和清洗步驟的即時線上監測和控制 ─ 記錄質量的微小變化,以對潛在的製程偏差實現先進的檢測。


協助晶片製造商創造未來

產品

circle-arrow2circle-arrow2facebookgooglehandshake2health2linkedinmenupdfplant2searchtwitteryoutube

Our Processes

Providing precision control at the atomic scale

Semiconductor processes used in the manufacture of today’s most advanced chips are challenged to literally push the limits of physics and chemistry with their nanoscale features, novel materials, and increasingly complex 3D structures. Meeting the ever-changing fabrication demands of new chip designs requires precision control at the atomic scale.

To ensure those new process technologies are production-ready when new chips head to the fab, our scientists and engineers stay abreast of our customers’ manufacturing needs. Our broad portfolio of market-leading products for thin film deposition, plasma etch, photoresist strip, and wafer cleaning are complementary processing steps used throughout semiconductor manufacturing. To support advanced process monitoring and control of critical steps, our product offerings include a line of high-precision mass metrology systems.


Lam Research Products Deposition

Deposition

Deposition processes create layers of dielectric (insulating) and metal (conducting) materials used to build a semiconductor device. Depending on the type of material and structure being made, different techniques are employed. Electrochemical deposition (ECD) creates the copper “wiring” (interconnect) that links devices in an integrated circuit. Metal plating of copper and other metals is also used for through-silicon vias and wafer-level packaging applications. Tiny tungsten connectors and thin barriers are made with the precision of chemical vapor deposition (CVD) and atomic layer deposition (ALD), which adds only a few layers of atoms at a time. Plasma-enhanced CVD (PECVD), high-density plasma CVD (HDP-CVD), and ALD are used to form the critical insulating layers that isolate and protect all of these electrical structures.

For the numerous materials and demanding features involved, our thin film deposition products provide the precision, performance, and flexibility needed for a wide range of challenging device applications.

Lam Research Products Etch

Etch

Etch processes help create chip features by selectively removing films and materials that have been deposited on the wafer. These processes involve fabricating increasingly small and complex features with complicated combinations of materials that need to be removed. The primary technology, reactive ion etch (RIE), activates the wafer surface with ions (charged particles) to remove material. Advanced etch techniques, such as atomic layer etching (ALE) are capable of removing a few atomic layers of material at a time. While conductor etch processes precisely shape electrically active components like transistors, dielectric etch forms the insulating structures that protect conducting parts. Etch processes also create the tall, high-aspect ratio features, such as through-silicon vias (TSVs), that allow packaging of chips together and for micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS).

Our plasma etch systems deliver the high-performance, high-productivity capabilities needed to form exacting structures – whether tall and narrow, short and wide, or measured in only a few angstroms.

Lam Research Products Clean

Strip & clean

Strip and clean techniques are used between manufacturing steps to eliminate unwanted material that could later lead to defects and to prepare the wafer surface for subsequent processing. Photoresist strip removes the photoresist film and residues following ion implant or etch steps. To clear away particles, contaminants, residues, and other unwanted materials, wafer cleaning steps are inserted throughout manufacturing. Wet processing technologies can be used for wafer cleaning as well as strip and etch applications. Plasma bevel cleaning is used to enhance die yield by removing unwanted materials from the wafer’s edge that could impact the device area.

Our strip technologies selectively remove remaining photoresist and provide process flexibility for multiple applications, while our high-productivity clean products deliver pristine surfaces center to edge for the most demanding cleaning steps.

Mass metrology

Mass Metrology measures the change in mass following deposition, etch, and clean processes to enable monitoring and control of these often-repeated core manufacturing steps. This measurement enables Å-level quantification to process changes. Especially for processes involving high aspect-ratio structures, complex 3D architectures, OR Atomic Layer Deposition, optical techniques are limited in their ability to measure accurately the thick, deep, or otherwise visually obscured features. Measuring the change in mass for these applications provides a simple, accurate, high-precision yet high throughput solution for monitoring and control of the critical features in advanced device processes, where there is often little tolerance for variation.

Our line of high-precision mass metrology systems provides in-line monitoring and control of nearly all wafer-processing steps in real-time. Mass measurement is capable of recording minute changes on the wafer (incl. Queue time effect) in maximizing outlier detection while optimizing Metrology fleet investment.

The accuracy of mass change measurements has helped some critical processes to improve yield and device performance through inline and closed-loop feedback control. The breadth and depth of mass metrology have also enabled device manufacturers to improve chamber-matching and chamber-drift control. Such versatility has enabled many device manufacturers in maximizing the value of mass measurement to control the lifecycle of their wafers with Å-level precision and high throughput.


Enabling Chipmakers to Create the Future

OUR PRODUCTS

circle-arrow2circle-arrow2facebookgooglehandshake2health2linkedinmenupdfplant2searchtwitteryoutube